Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How & Why Did You Start To Learn Russian ?

Новичок

How & Why Did You Start To Learn Russian ?

It's a simple question, I know. I started learning Russian 6 months ago and I'm hooked on it. I go to Russian websites, listen to Russian music, eat at Russian restaurants ... I just love it. Funny thing is that I'm of African-American origin (Haitian) and ALL my friends are stunned and surprised that a 'black' person would want to study Russian.

I want to know, what got you hooked, why are you studying the languages and if you are studying "Modern Languages", what other languages do you study.

Thank you.
    Brown Sugar xox

Новичок
    Well..I've always liked learning languages, and then came the time to pick a study (or to go to work, but I wasn't ready for that yet..and still not ) and so I chose 'russian' at the translation university, because basically that was the greatest challenge and the language that appealed to me most.

(Wow..I explained it all in one sentence.. )

Axystos.
    Native: Nederlands; C2: Deutsch; C1: English
    B2: русский, fran

V
    Почтенный гражданин
    Wasn't there a real book with like seven sentences in it?
    Сюда нужно смотреть. И слушать, что я говорю.

Новичок
    I started Russian because so many of my friends speak Russian that I feel awkward when they talk, as my boyfriend now is Russian I think it will make things alot easier. Impress him... =)
    ~*Raya*~

Властелин
    I picked Russian because it looked difficult.

I was correct

So I see you wanted to have a challenge. Now that you know it's hard what do you think?
    ~ Мастерадминов Мастерадмин Мастерадминович ~

Властелин
    I am enjoying it so far, and the fact that it is difficult just makes it more rewarding, though it's not nearly as difficult as I imagined. The only other language I can speak is Japanese though, and I think anything else would seem easy after that