Thread: Quick translation...I think

Подающий надежды оратор

Quick translation...I think

First of all...this is my first post...Im new here....and in order to be the perfect new guy, I need help with translation. I want to translate the phrase "got Freedom?" into Russian. I want to make sure no idioms (my biggest problem) that I am not aware of may enter into this. I also want to use any idiom that may relate.

I have been studying Russian for about 3 years now, but only on my own, and dont have a lot of help. Im pretty sure I know the answer to this one, but i want to make sure I get it right, because I intend to use it on some artwork. Any help would be much appreciated. This forum looks awesome, I cant wait to use it. THanks.

hmm... I would translate it as:

"у тебя есть свобода?"
    or simply (wihtout the "do you have" part)
    "есть свобода?"
    Hei, rett norsken min og du er død.
    I am a notourriouse misspeller. Be easy on me.
    Пожалуйста! Исправляйте мои глупые ошибки (но оставьте умные)!
    Yo hablo español mejor que tú.
    Trusnse kal'rt eturule sikay!!! ))

Завсегдатай
    What about "получил(а,ли) свободу?"?

Guitari609, give the context.

Подающий надежды оратор
    I dont know if you have ever seen the milk advertisements that say "got milk?" but that is the same thing I am going for here. Basically a shortened question asking if one, whoever is reading the phrase, has freedom. I had kind of figured it would be: у вас есть свобода? But like I mentioned, I'm not real sure of myself on this. Plus I want to make sure it is the most natural way to say this.

In other words...if a Russian were to walk up to another and as quickly and briefly as possible ask if they have freedom, such as general freedom in life, freedom of expression, freedom from worry, how would they most likely say it?

Thanks for the responses.

Почтенный гражданин
    Generally, I'd say: Свободен?BUT, this свободен has lots of connotations like