Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Arabic and Farsi

Arabic and Farsi

Farsi writings inside an in-flight magazine grounded Midwest flight:
    http://www.jsonline.com/news/metro/sep04/260507.asp

Well, all jokes aside, there is an interesting phrase:

"The director of Midwest's corporate security knew someone who could read the writing ("Arabic-type" - Mapster) and was told it was Farsi."

I have a question: to what degree are Arabic and Farsi mutually intelligible? I read that there are many words borrowed from Arabic in Farsi (perhaps these are especially frequent in texts of "contemplative nature"), so could somebody who knows only Arabic tell in general what the Farsi text was about?

Завсегдатай
    Farsi has a lot of borrowed words from Arabic, but they are in entirely different language families. Farsi is an Indo-European language, like German and Russian, whereas Arabic is an Afro-Asiatic language like Hebrew and Ethiopian. I would doubt that an Arabic speaker could understand the Farsi text, but maybe he'd be able to identify it as Farsi.

Regarding identifying Farsi:

"A quick way to tell whether something is Arabic, Farsi or Urdu:

Arabic never has three dots below the line. There are only two characters in Arabic with three dots, and they’re both above the line.

Farsi and Urdu have almost identical alphabets (both the ch and p with 3 dots below the line), but Urdu also has a unique diacritical above the line, looking like a lowercase b (or more accurately, the Arabic “T” or emphatic t). This is used to indicate retroflex on t and d. If you don’t see that, it might be either language. I don’t know anything about common vocabulary or spelling rules that would distinguish them."
    http://www.crookedtimber.org/archives/002463.html

> I would doubt that an Arabic speaker could understand the Farsi text

Farsi speakers said the same. I wonder though if he would be able to identify the topic of the text, in particular that it was "of a contemplative nature."