Thread: Creating sentences

Новичок

Creating sentences

Hi,

I started learning Russian yesterday and have a few questions. I like logic, structure and systems (have studied Kant and Heidegger), and learned basic German pretty quick by focusing on grammar. A logical grammar system is like a Christmas tree on which one can hang all kinds of nouns, verbs, adverbs, and adjectives.

I can memorize vocabulary pretty fast, but I would like to know the basic principles of how to build sentences in Russian. I have read the following:

“Russian is widely considered an SVO [subject-verb-object] language, as this is the most frequent constituent order under such conditions—all sorts of variations are possible, though, and occur in texts. In many inflected languages such as Russian, Latin, and Greek, departures from the default word orders are permissible, but usually imply a shift in focus, an emphasis on the final element, or some special context.”

Does this mean that one can also find SOV variations, and are there other ways to make sentences? If every word is inflected perfectly, can one make sense of a sentence even when the words are arbitrarily put together? I read somewhere that a Russian can say the same thing in almost thousands of ways. If that’s true, it must be pretty difficult to understand what they are saying if one doesn’t master their inflection system?

Are there “if-so” sentences like in English?

I heard that Russian is very logical. Does this mean that all the inflection patterns are consistent? Or are there many exceptions when it comes to grammatical rules?

I’m Norwegian, and we operate with gender inflection and still have remnants of the case system. With this background, will it be difficult to learn Russian good enough to have a basic conversation and read a newspaper? Will it take a long time if I study Russian two hours a day and live in Russia? I’m highly motivated!