Thread: Please help! Need a few sentences translated-phonetic in Eng

Новичок

Please help! Need a few sentences translated-phonetic in Eng

Please help me!! My boyfriend is visiting his mother in Russia. I have to call there on Christmas and speak to his mother. I want to be able to say a few sentences. I am a beginner and know a little bit of Russian, my pronunciation is pretty good, but can someone help me translate these few phrases below, phonetically? I do not read Russian yet, so I need the phonetic pronunciation, in English letters. Thank you very much.

Hello Zinaida!

I got help translating this, so I may not be able to understand your response, but I hope you can understand me. Please excuse my pronunciation.

I am so happy that you are with Oleg for Christmas. I know he and Oleg Jr. will have a great time skiing together.

It is so frustrating to not be able to communicate with you. I have been very bad at studying my Russian! I’m sorry!

I hope that we can meet in 2007. I hope that Oleg and I can come together to Russia or you can come to the U.S. I don’t want to wait much longer to meet you Zinaida…life is too short!

I wish you and Ivan all the best in the New Year. Good health and all the happiness in the world. God Bless you Zinaida.

Please tell Oleg to call me when he gets back. I love you Zinaida. Take care of yourself

Почтенный гражданин

Re: Please help! Need a few sentences translated asap.

Quote Originally Posted by hillary
    Hello Zinaida!
    Do you know her patronimic? Normally you are supposed to use it in a situation like this...

Новичок
    Mike - No I don't actually. I can't remember what it is. But it's okay, I've spoken to her before and just called her Zinaida and she knows that I don't know any better and she doesn't mind, I'm pretty sure! Thank you.

Почтенный гражданин

Здравствуйте, Зинаида! (Добрый день/вечер, Зинаида!)