Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Russian SIM cards in Blackberry phone?

  1. #1
    Подающий надежды оратор
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    12
    Rep Power
    9

    Russian SIM cards in Blackberry phone?

    Has anybody tried to use a Russian mobile SIM card in your Blackberry phone when traveling there? Usually, I buy a Russian SIM card there (Beeline or Tele2, etc) and use the Russian # while I am there. However, on my last trip in Piter, the SIM would not work in my Motorola RAZR, which I found odd. Curious if any have had the experience of taking their Blackberry to Russia? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Подающий надежды оратор
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Concord, Mass
    Posts
    26
    Rep Power
    10
    I had a tele2 sim card in my 8300 in piter last summer and it worked fine.

  3. #3
    Cesar
    Guest

    Re: Russian SIM cards in Blackberry phone?

    Quote Originally Posted by PentatonicDream
    Has anybody tried to use a Russian mobile SIM card in your Blackberry phone when traveling there? Usually, I buy a Russian SIM card there (Beeline or Tele2, etc) and use the Russian # while I am there. However, on my last trip in Piter, the SIM would not work in my Motorola RAZR, which I found odd. Curious if any have had the experience of taking their Blackberry to Russia? Thanks.
    Did you ask your customer service in the US if the phone was blocked? I have a Motorola with AT&T Motorola, I knew it was blocked so I couldn't use it with a Russian SIM card when I went last January... The reason: they block phones only to be used with that company. So I used the international roaming which is really really really expensive.

    C

  4. #4
    Подающий надежды оратор
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    12
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: Russian SIM cards in Blackberry phone?

    [quote=Cesar]
    Did you ask your customer service in the US if the phone was blocked? I have a Motorola with AT&T Motorola, I knew it was blocked so I couldn't use it with a Russian SIM card when I went last January... The reason: they block phones only to be used with that company. So I used the international roaming which is really really really expensive.

    C

  5. #5
    Старший оракул
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    920
    Rep Power
    11
    you can pay to have the phone unblocked, its not a problem
    Не откладывай на завтра того, с кем можешь переспать сегодня
    --------
    http://england-moscow.com/

  6. #6
    Властелин
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Invalid City!
    Posts
    1,352
    Rep Power
    13
    It's not just as simple as making sure the phone is unblocked. Different mobiles have different features and these need to be supported by the network. If your phone has features that the network doesnt support then it might work with those features disabled or non-operative, but it's just as likely that it won't work at all. Not all models of phone are available on all networks even within one market, l never mind abroad.

  7. #7
    Cesar
    Guest
    The basic functions like speaking can work just by changing the SIM card if the phone is unblocked, and if it supports the frequency used by the other company (my phone supports four different frequencies, two of them used by Beeline and MTS - 900MHz and 1800 MHz).

    Of course, you can unblock your phone. They, as far as I know, do it for free at AT&T. However, when I went to the store they didn't even know what unblocking a mobile phone was (it's basically entering a code and that's it) so I had to travel using the roaming and I couldn't used the SIM card that they gave me in Moscow.

    C

  8. #8
    Подающий надежды оратор
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Concord, Mass
    Posts
    26
    Rep Power
    10
    My BB is with at&t, too. You can call customer service for the unlock code, they'll give it to you if you've been with them for a certain amount of time, how much I don't remember, three or four months I think. The procedure as I remember it is a bit convoluted, you have to fax something in and then they email the code back to you in a few days.

    If you don't meet their requirements and you still want to unlock it you can usually get the codes for 10 or 20 bucks from sellers on ebay. There are other websites that will purport to sell you the codes, too, but ebay is kinda nice because the seller feedback is a good indication of how legit the seller is.

    With the tele2 sim card voice calls and sms within Russia worked fine for me, I didn't try anything else and in fact turned off the data services on the phone in case they did something in the background that would have drained my balance.

Similar Threads

  1. Cell phone in the USA that does English/Russian
    By fortheether in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: October 23rd, 2010, 03:44 AM
  2. Talking in Russian on phone
    By in forum Tutors Directory
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 11th, 2006, 03:55 PM
  3. Blackberry?
    By Celephais in forum Translate This!
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 5th, 2005, 02:42 AM
  4. Replies: 26
    Last Post: March 30th, 2005, 04:05 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 7th, 2004, 08:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Russian Lessons                           

Russian Tests and Quizzes            

Russian Vocabulary