Thread: A Chekhov quote

Новичок

A Chekhov quote

Hello everyone! My name is Tamara. I was wondering if anyone knew where the following Chekhov quote is from, and whether they knew it in Russian. It has been a great inspiration to me. Thank you!

"Let us learn to appreciate there will be times when the trees will be bare, and look forward to the time when we may pick the fruit."- A. Chekhov

Re: A Chekhov quote

Some time ago there was a thread about a "famous" quote by Dostoevsky and even Russian experts and funs were hardly to identify what native English speakers were thought to be the Dostoevsky's quote. This is why your question attracts a lot of my attention. I am not an expert of Chekhov and I've just made some web surfing about this quote.

First: I've not found any traces of such a quote in Russian. I believe that if the quote is really by Chekhov it's original version should be in Russian. I've used many different possibilities to translate the quote in Russian but haven't found anything close to it.

Second: I've searched for this quote in English and found that this quote is really attributed to Chekhov but never the source of the quote is mentioned.

Third: Surprisingly I've found that the quote is also attributed to Peter Sellers an actor who played the The Chief Inspector Jacques Clouseau in the movie "Pink Panther" of 1963. But also there are no any reference to the source of the quote.

Fourth: This quote is mostly mentioned within the pages containing the specific list of "magic" quotes which should make the person who followed the quotes to be successful.
    So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

Quote Originally Posted by CoffeeCup
    First: I've not found any traces of such a quote in Russian.
    Вот здесь http://www.businessguideusa.com/Oct02.07.htmесть упоминание о Чехове: