Thread: Car seats in Russia

Увлечённый спикер

Car seats in Russia

My expertise is in car seats (I'm a child passenger safety technician and have 6 kids of my own in car seats), so I am very curious about car seats in Russia. How would you say "car seat" (Meaning a child's seat.) in Russian? Do kids in Russia usually use them? How long is normal for rear-facing? In a harness? Do they use booster seats?

Okay, I did some googling. It looks like детское автокресло is what is used to mean "car seat". Correct?
    Кристина

Подающий надежды оратор
    yes, it is correct. It is the most usable word - детское автокресло.

детское сиденье is more informal and much widely used. I have two of them for both my kids. I tried to use rear-facing for my daughter seat (she is 1 y.o.) but she doesn't like it and get boring very fast. But when she looks forward she rather enjoys a trip. I had a couple of long trips with her with summer (more than 1000 km each) and she was ok during the whole way in her seat. My son is 9 y.o. so he almost don't need a child seat already. But by the Russian law a kid must be in a seat untill 12 y.o. or if his weight is less than 35 kg. My son's weight is 32kg so he is planning to get rid of the seat soon.
    Please, correct my mistakes, except for the cases I misspell something on purpose!

Почтенный гражданин
    and in our Law this is: детское удерживающее устройство

Завсегдатай
    I wonder if laws in Ukraine are different or if we are just ignorant. None of my friends with kids had special car seats, and I hasten to assure you that all these kids survived to their preteen years just fine.
    Undoubtedly, such car seats will be getting more and more popular, as the old mentality gets weaker and families income and awareness grow, but still sitting in the kids seat until you are 12 (twelve!) seems a bit extreme.

Почтенный гражданин
    but for 12 years, people don't use a real seat = for this age this is just a pillow