Page 48 of 50 FirstFirst ... 384647484950 LastLast
Results 941 to 960 of 994
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in here!

  1. #941
    Почтенный гражданин
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Москва
    Posts
    199
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by quartz

    "Но в следующий раз, прежде чем что-то красить, потренеруйтесь, для начала, на кошках"
    А ты знаешь, из какого фильма эта цитата про кошек?
    В основном безвреден.

  2. #942
    Почтенный гражданин
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    340
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by Vadim Mo
    Quote Originally Posted by quartz

    "Но в следующий раз, прежде чем что-то красить, потренеруйтесь, для начала, на кошках"
    А ты знаешь, из какого фильма эта цитата про кошек?
    как не знать? это "советский фильм 101"

    "Кто не работает, тот ест. Учись, студент."
    If I was kiddin' you, I'd be wearin' a fez and no pants. (Lennie Briscoe)

  3. #943
    Завсегдатай rockzmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Coast, United States
    Posts
    2,184
    Rep Power
    17

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    New film topic! Long ago, when most of you were not even a thought about in your parent's minds... there was a movie called The Gumball Rally. This movie came out the same year as the first Cannonball movie. These movies are about car races from one coast of the U.S. to the other.

    I remember this film from my youth (yup, I am that old) and there is ONE very good line from it (well maybe more) that if you are of my generation, you STILL know it and upon occasion will say it when you are in the car.

    First rule of Italian driving! Say it with me people!!!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AjGXn249Fc0

    I bring this all up because of a story in the news this week:
    http://wot.motortrend.com/6658222/mi...rip/index.html

    Gumball Rally on wiki:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Gumball_Rally

    Gumball Rally the movie in English
    http://stagevu.com/video/wojlibtfhndc
    I only speak two languages, English and bad English.
    Check out the MasterRussian Music Playlist
    Click here for list of Russian films with English subtitles and links to watch them.

  4. #944
    Hanna
    Guest

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by rockzmom
    First rule of Italian driving! Say it with me people!!!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AjGXn249Fc0
    I wish they could stlll apply that rule now,then I could get my licence there. Unfortunately Italy is subject to EUs driving test regulations.

    The only people who drive like that are those who got their licences BEFORE the new tests were introduced. Everyone else drives like this:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-YsdH...eature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7wogpRazlu8
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R6oyvTZWhDM

    Some British instruction videos and "games" for driving.
    Note the irritating pretentious language used!!!

  5. #945
    Почтенный гражданин
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Москва
    Posts
    199
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by quartz
    как не знать? это "советский фильм 101"

    "Кто не работает, тот ест. Учись, студент."
    You have passed the test!
    В основном безвреден.

  6. #946
    Завсегдатай rockzmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Coast, United States
    Posts
    2,184
    Rep Power
    17

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    In honor of Father's Day here in the U.S.... one of the best TV theme songs!

    "Best Friend", written and performed by Harry Nilsson
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rCF7Dnov8vA
    I only speak two languages, English and bad English.
    Check out the MasterRussian Music Playlist
    Click here for list of Russian films with English subtitles and links to watch them.

  7. #947
    Завсегдатай Crocodile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    село Торонтовка Онтарийской губернии
    Posts
    3,057
    Rep Power
    18

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by quartz
    What does Stirlitz know about good movies anyway!?
    As I vaguely recollect it was because his undercover contact hasn't arrived and Shtirlitz was worried.

    I think Sun Valley Serenade was beating Die Frau meiner Träume in popularity.

  8. #948
    Старший оракул CoffeeCup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Snowbearia
    Posts
    902
    Rep Power
    12

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by rockzmom
    In honor of Father's Day here in the U.S.... one of the best TV theme songs!
    "Best Friend", written and performed by Harry Nilsson
    I've never heard this song before but immediately recognize it as something familiar. It is because of the "Puppy song" by Harry Nilsson which is the soundtrack for the "You've got mail" movie.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uzDRY2h-nEg (video in this clip has nothing common with the movie).
    So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

  9. #949
    Завсегдатай rockzmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Coast, United States
    Posts
    2,184
    Rep Power
    17

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by CoffeeCup
    Quote Originally Posted by rockzmom
    In honor of Father's Day here in the U.S.... one of the best TV theme songs!
    "Best Friend", written and performed by Harry Nilsson
    I've never heard this song before but immediately recognize it as something familiar. It is because of the "Puppy song" by Harry Nilsson which is the soundtrack for the "You've got mail" movie.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uzDRY2h-nEg (video in this clip has nothing common with the movie).
    Very good!!!

    Harry is one of those people that you know his songs but not his name..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tmmwMx06Pg8

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harry_Nilsson
    I only speak two languages, English and bad English.
    Check out the MasterRussian Music Playlist
    Click here for list of Russian films with English subtitles and links to watch them.

  10. #950
    Почтенный гражданин
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    340
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by Crocodile

    I think Sun Valley Serenade was beating Die Frau meiner Träume in popularity.

    what?!
    If I was kiddin' you, I'd be wearin' a fez and no pants. (Lennie Briscoe)

  11. #951
    Завсегдатай rockzmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Coast, United States
    Posts
    2,184
    Rep Power
    17

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Well everyone... It seems like it has been forever since I have watched a non-American movie and posted about it. I just have not has the mental capacity to deal with subtitles or really "deep" hard to follow story lines.

    I recall trying to start up The Master and Margarita again and I rewatched the same three of four episodes and then I had to stop as it is too taxing... so I am turning to you the experts... What would be a good summer film for me to watch? Something that if I stop and start it would not be too hard to follow?

    Starrysky, I know you love Indian films... maybe I could branch out and try one of your favorites?

    Basil... I know you love the animations (as well our war film expert) & gRomoZeka... which animations haven't you posted that I could watch?
    I only speak two languages, English and bad English.
    Check out the MasterRussian Music Playlist
    Click here for list of Russian films with English subtitles and links to watch them.

  12. #952
    Завсегдатай
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    5,073
    Rep Power
    24

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by rockzmom
    ... which animations haven't you posted that I could watch?
    Have you seen these?
    Sherlock Holmes & Dr. Watson (with Eng subs) RECOMMENDED.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HULUEK0PkbU
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c2emcWHVULE

    Here's a nice cartoon for kids about two naughty dogs:
    Bobik visits Barbos (Бобик в гостях у Барбоса)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wp7zzFAQhzw

    About Sidorov Vova" (1985) - I wonder do you find this funny?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6JBUY8KtUIw

    And a classic cartoon:
    The Snow Queen (1957) in 7 parts (English subs)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lg3pGB_Yfp8 (part 1)

    There are a lot of great Russian cartoons on youtube, but unfortunately they do not have English subs.
    For example, there's a cartoon based on Russian medieval sagas about a young woman, who went to save her husband from captivity. I really liked it as a kid. You can enjoy a short video from this cartoon (to Mylene Farmer's "Sans Contrefacon") here:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JplD-zHjfXA

  13. #953
    Завсегдатай rockzmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Coast, United States
    Posts
    2,184
    Rep Power
    17

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by gRomoZeka
    Quote Originally Posted by rockzmom
    ... which animations haven't you posted that I could watch?
    Have you seen these?
    Sherlock Holmes & Dr. Watson (with Eng subs) RECOMMENDED.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HULUEK0PkbU
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c2emcWHVULE

    Here's a nice cartoon for kids about two naughty dogs:
    Bobik visits Barbos (Бобик в гостях у Барбоса)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wp7zzFAQhzw

    About Sidorov Vova" (1985) - I wonder do you find this funny?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6JBUY8KtUIw

    And a classic cartoon:
    The Snow Queen (1957) in 7 parts (English subs)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lg3pGB_Yfp8 (part 1)

    There are a lot of great Russian cartoons on youtube, but unfortunately they do not have English subs.
    For example, there's a cartoon based on Russian medieval sagas about a young woman, who went to save her husband from captivity. I really liked it as a kid. You can enjoy a short video from this cartoon (to Mylene Farmer's "Sans Contrefacon") here:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JplD-zHjfXA
    THANK YOU!! I did not know that Sherlock Holmes & Dr. Watson came in an animation format! I have the movie version that Olya did the subs for and never got around to watching it.

    Has anyone seen this one, "The Cat Who Walked By Herself/ Кошка, которая гуляла сама по себе" from 1988
    It came up on the list next to Sherlock and caught my eye. It is based on Rudyard Kipling's short story, The Cat that Walked by Himself.

    You can watch the entire film here with English subtitles:
    http://video.google.ca/videoplay?doc...4486&hl=en-CA#

    Link on IMDb http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0997248/
    Wiki Link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Cat...ked_by_Herself
    I only speak two languages, English and bad English.
    Check out the MasterRussian Music Playlist
    Click here for list of Russian films with English subtitles and links to watch them.

  14. #954
    Завсегдатай
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    5,073
    Rep Power
    24

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by rockzmom
    THANK YOU!! I did not know that Sherlock Holmes & Dr. Watson came in an animation format! I have the movie version that Olya did the subs for and never got around to watching it.
    You are welcome! I'm sure you'll enjoy the movie. My absolute favourite is "The Hound of the Baskervilles": http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Hound_ ... (1981_film)
    Has anyone seen this one, "The Cat Who Walked By Herself/ Кошка, которая гуляла сама по себе" from 1988
    I've never heard of this version! Looks very artistic, but I'm much more used to the older one from 1968, which had been aired pretty often on TV.
    "The Cat Who Walked By Himself/ Кот, который гулял сам по себе" (no subs, but everything is pretty clear from the context)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T0G0be9iwKw
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otn-L9oUeeA

    If you like Kipling here's a beautifully made cartoon "Rikki-Tikki-Tavi" (sadly, no subs). The colors are amazing, I especially like the scene during the rain in the first part.

    "Rikki-Tikki-Tavi" / Рики-тики-тави (1965)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U3FER9hOAJk
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=76us1bjTGCM

    And you definitely have to see "Adventures of Mowgli" if you have not seen it yet!!! It's epic!!!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adventures_of_Mowgli
    First part:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mix_e7cQUhg
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uCkeABQlDcw
    (all parts are available in the list to the right. Again, no subs, but it's worth watching at least for a couple of minutes for its great old style animation with a unique twist)

  15. #955
    Старший оракул
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    837
    Rep Power
    12

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    The Tale of Soldier Fedot
    The first part: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uYQwWwQV ... re=related

    The language is a huge part of it and I'm not sure how much of it was lost in translation, but they tried hard.

  16. #956
    Завсегдатай rockzmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Coast, United States
    Posts
    2,184
    Rep Power
    17

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    A side bar for one second here... This is a clip from the show that aired last night, So You Think You Can Dance

    Alex, is a trained and working Ballet dancer who this week has been paired up with Twitch who is a trained and working Hip-Hop dancer.

    Alex MUST learn the style of Hip-Hop for the very first time and then be judged on it. The result is an AMAZING piece of choreography that blends both Hip-Hop and Ballet and shows the depth of talent that Alex has and how quickly he can learn a completely different style of dance!!!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cLbjKnv0ju4
    I only speak two languages, English and bad English.
    Check out the MasterRussian Music Playlist
    Click here for list of Russian films with English subtitles and links to watch them.

  17. #957
    Старший оракул CoffeeCup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Snowbearia
    Posts
    902
    Rep Power
    12

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by rockzmom
    I just have not has the mental capacity to deal with subtitles or really "deep" hard to follow story lines.
    Quote Originally Posted by rockzmom
    I have the movie version that Olya did the subs for and never got around to watching it.
    Undoubtedly it is the movie you should start watching immediately. Wiki link. Even though it is a detective stories it will not force you to follow hard the story line at all. All of us were talking that the episodes of "The Hound of the Baskervilles" are the best. It is true but to get all the joy of these two episodes you need to be introduced to the Holmes' fictional world which was built in this series. Be sure to start with the first episode "Acquaintance" which portrayed the main characters. The second episode "Bloody Inscription" introduces the "deductive reasoning" technique in the begin of the episode and also introduces Inspector Lestrade who is a pretty colorful character in this series.

    You can avoid the final episodes "The Twentieth Century Approaches" these are not as good as all the other episodes.
    So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

  18. #958
    Завсегдатай rockzmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Coast, United States
    Posts
    2,184
    Rep Power
    17

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by CoffeeCup
    All of us were talking [s0uwieqp]that[/s0uwieqp] about the episodes of "The Hound of the Baskervilles" and saying they are the best. It is true but to get all the joy of these two episodes you need to be introduced to [s0uwieqp]the[/s0uwieqp] Holmes' fictional world which was built in this series. Be sure to start with the first episode "Acquaintance" which portray[s0uwieqp]ed[/s0uwieqp]s the main characters. The second episode "Bloody Inscription" introduces the "deductive reasoning" technique in the begin of the episode and also introduces Inspector Lestrade who is a pretty colorful character in this series.

    You can avoid the final episodes "The Twentieth Century Approaches" these are not as good as all the other episodes.
    Coffeecup, you are correct, I only have The Hounds... And I do recall how much everyone recommend this film, and YET... somehow I had no idea it was series!!!!

    Would someone be kind enough to look on the Russian Yandex-server for me to see if there are versions of the other films/series with English subtitles available for download?


    Here are the links to the Hounds if it helps anyone to find the others...
    Part 1: http://narod.ru/disk/4358781000/Houn...art_1.avi.html
    Part 2: http://narod.ru/disk/4358782000/Houn...art_2.avi.html
    I only speak two languages, English and bad English.
    Check out the MasterRussian Music Playlist
    Click here for list of Russian films with English subtitles and links to watch them.

  19. #959
    Старший оракул CoffeeCup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Snowbearia
    Posts
    902
    Rep Power
    12

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    I've found the first episode "The Acquaintance" on youtube with English subs.

    It was divided in 7 parts.
    part 1
    part 2
    part 3
    part 4
    part 5
    part 6
    part 7

    FYI. To be sure that you will not miss some parts. Episode "The Acquaintance" contains two stories: the first one is the story how Holmes and Watson met each other and became partners; the second one is about a poor girl whose twin-sister was dead just before her sister's marriage and the girl was frightened of her own life.
    So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

  20. #960
    Старший оракул CoffeeCup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Snowbearia
    Posts
    902
    Rep Power
    12

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    I've found both first episode "The Acquaintance" and second "Bloody Inscription" together on youtube with English subs.

    there are 14 links
    part 1
    part 2
    part 3
    part 4
    part 5
    part 6
    part 7
    part 8
    part 9
    part 10
    part 11
    part 12
    part 13
    part 14
    So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

Page 48 of 50 FirstFirst ... 384647484950 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Films with Russian subtitles
    By JackBoni in forum Getting Started with Russian
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 10th, 2018, 05:59 AM
  2. Reviews and discussions of Russian language films
    By Hanna in forum Russian Movies
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: December 18th, 2010, 08:54 AM
  3. a place to dl russian films
    By Lt. Columbo in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: October 1st, 2007, 05:03 PM
  4. Finding Russian films in UK?
    By rainbowworrier in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 20th, 2007, 08:14 AM
  5. Russian Movie Reviews!
    By kalinka_vinnie in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: February 2nd, 2006, 05:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Russian Lessons                           

Russian Tests and Quizzes            

Russian Vocabulary