Page 46 of 50 FirstFirst ... 364445464748 ... LastLast
Results 901 to 920 of 994
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in here!

  1. #901
    Почтенный гражданин
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Posts
    385
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by Hanna
    I have seen most of the episodes of the TV series. (yeah... admit... )
    It is TERRIBLY materialistic, decadent etc but also fun and entertaining.
    Nothing wrong about it. Since I haven't seen a single episode and can't judge I can readily believe it's entertaining. But yeah, materialistic is not something I enjoy first and foremost... Though you could say "Shopaholic" was quite materialistic and yet fun.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hanna
    They sleep with a new guy in almost every episode.
    That's... nice. But I suppose they are still searching for "true love" all the time.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hanna
    The other point is to show off a lot of fashion, particularly shoes... A lot of women I knew got pretty stressed out about feeling that they ought to have clothes by the same designers as Carrie in the series. Many womens magazines here in the UK ran a feature on the fashion featured in the latest episode.
    Ouch.

    Johanna, you've totally freaked me out with your new nickname! I thought we've got a new member with a similar name!
    Alice: One can't believe impossible things.
    The Queen: I dare say you haven't had much practice. When I was your age, I always did it for half an hour a day. Why, sometimes I've believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.

  2. #902
    Hanna
    Guest

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    I just realised that I have been sharing some opinions and even professional comments... The net (and the world) can be very small and I don't want anything I say here to haunt me at a later date. It's particularly complicated for work really, that's all. This is a nickname for my regular name, but I don't use it in England.
    Hope it doesn't sound strange or something in Russian?

  3. #903
    Почтенный гражданин
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    340
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by Hanna
    I just realised that I have been sharing some opinions and even professional comments... The net (and the world) can be very small and I don't want anything I say here to haunt me at a later date. It's particularly complicated for work really, that's all. This is a nickname for my regular name, but I don't use it in England.
    Hope it doesn't sound strange or something in Russian?

    Is this because of my PM ??
    If I was kiddin' you, I'd be wearin' a fez and no pants. (Lennie Briscoe)

  4. #904
    Hanna
    Guest

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    No, no! It was silly of me to sign up with my own name, hardly anyone is stupid enough to do that. Some people don't even want to say where they live. That said, those who i consider to be friends here already know my real name and I'd be more than happy to meet up with any of them in real life... But it's quite a different thing if some colleague or friend happened to stumble in on this forum and thought "hey I know her, I can't believe she is saying xyz". I just seriously dissed my job and even their hospitality gifts (movie premiere tickets and such... )

  5. #905
    Почтенный гражданин
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    340
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by Hanna
    No, no! It was silly of me to sign up with my own name, hardly anyone is stupid enough to do that. Some people don't even want to say where they live. That said, those who i consider to be friends here already know my real name and I'd be more than happy to meet up with any of them in real life... But it's quite a different thing if some colleague or friend happened to stumble in on this forum and thought "hey I know her, I can't believe she is saying xyz". I just seriously dissed my job and even their hospitality gifts (movie premiere tickets and such... )
    I totally understand that. I never disclose much about myself online (I dont even have social networks accounts) as in my field (academia) things you say might haunt you for a long time and will hurt your job prospects.
    I guess it was a coincidence (my PM and your name switch).
    If I was kiddin' you, I'd be wearin' a fez and no pants. (Lennie Briscoe)

  6. #906
    Завсегдатай rockzmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Coast, United States
    Posts
    2,184
    Rep Power
    17

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Too funny Spanish with Russian subtitles!!! I can't win!!! http://www.megavideo.com/?d=2MMYXGNN
    I only speak two languages, English and bad English.
    Check out the MasterRussian Music Playlist
    Click here for list of Russian films with English subtitles and links to watch them.

  7. #907
    Hanna
    Guest

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    I saw a great show which I want to recommend to sci-fi fans:

    "Caprica"


    It's a spinoff of "Battlestar Galactica" and very cleverly done in my view. It raises some issues which are relevant at present, but set them in the future, on the planet "Caprica" prior to the events that are shown in "Battlestar Galactica".


    It shows the birth of artificial intelligence in form of the Cylons; what motivates the creation of them.. and it features a sort of alternative online world, like a 3D/holographic internet, and the teen culture that springs up around it.

    Basically if you like sci-fi, you'll enjoy this series!

    Women will like it, because some of the most interesting characters are female.

    I think it was made by a channel called "Syfy" (USA) - In Europe it's showing on the Scifi channel and of course, available to download. Recommended.


  8. #908
    Hanna
    Guest

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    An obscure review: I saw a Swedish TV film by SVT (state TV) called "Ryska dörren" (The Russian door). This film had some funny moments, but on the whole, I give it only 1 star out of 5.

    Allegedly it is based on a true story.
    Trailer:http://www.framestation.se/drd.swf



    The film is from last year, but it is supposed to take place in 1990 or perhaps 1989. The plot is that a Swedish man from the North is a bus driver on a long distance coach from Kiruna (Sweden) to Murmansk (Russia/USSR). During his stopover in Murmansk he meets a Russian woman (guide/interpreter) whom he falls in love with. However her mother is suspicious towards him, because he is a foreigner. The guide lives with her son, at her mothers' place.

    The bus driver learns that the guides' mother needs to replace the front door to her flat, but is having trouble finding a replacement and getting it installed. He makes a promise to her that he will deliver a first-class door to her, and install it himself (so that she will realise that he is a good person...)

    However the delivery of the door gets delayed due to bureacracy in Sweden, Finland and Russia (this bit is quite funny). In order to meet all the necessary bureacratic requirements, he has no choice but to make the door himself, from scratch.

    Meanwhile the alcoholic and corrupt manager of the bus company fires the bus driver, and he is no longer able to travel to Murmansk due to travel restrictions of the time - it requires a special permission.

    In order to be able to get back there, only one option exists, he needs to get on a workers' cultural exchange. For this, he first needs to get involved in a local socialist organisation. He is not a serious socialist, but fakes it... (this part is also funny, particularly a scene where some USSR citizens visit Sweden on an exchange going the other way.)

    The bus drivers' efforts at getting on the cultural exchange pays off. He ends up actually smuggling the door with him into Russia, while on the cultural exchange...

    Against all odds, with plenty of drama, he is able to deliver and install the door, and that's the end of the film.

    The topic of the film is a bit strange to say the least. Two things seriously irritated me about it:

    1) The bus driver could only speak very rudimentary Russian and frequently switches to English when he can't find the words in Russian.

    2) How could there have been a coach to Murmansk while the USSR existed..! And who precisely would have used it??

    3) The bus driver has a totally lame personality. Why would the smart and pretty Russian guide fall for him?! Makes little sense.

    All and all, this film was interesting insight into how people lived in Northern Sweden and in Murmansk in the 1980s.
    The extreme boozing culture in all three countries is realistic for sure... All the scenes from Murmansk were filmed there, so far as I could tell.

  9. #909
    Старший оракул
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    837
    Rep Power
    12

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by Hanna
    3) The bus driver has a totally lame personality. Why would the smart and pretty Russian guide fall for him?! Makes little sense.
    Russian proverb: "Любовь зла - полюбишь и козла".

  10. #910
    Завсегдатай Basil77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Moscow reg.
    Posts
    2,549
    Rep Power
    18

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    I have a question to Hanna here, tell me, please, does he speaks real Swedish or just rubbish?

    http://video.mail.ru/mail/aitova077/803/809.html
    Please, correct my mistakes, except for the cases I misspell something on purpose!

  11. #911
    Hanna
    Guest

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    It's rubbish!!

    Well actually, it is some "German" words, basically says "I am sent by the Swedish king...", then mostly nonsense, or maybe my German is not the best... What's the name of this film? I have seen it ages ago (198x) and remember thinking how silly it was that in all of Russia they couldn't find anyone who could say a few simple sentences in Swedish... Replacing our beautiful language for mock German??!! But it happens in American films to...

    Plus, can we have that area back please? Didn't *really* mean to declare war on Russia.. it was just a misunderstanding.... Is Kemsk the Russian name for the area that Vyborg is in?

  12. #912
    Завсегдатай
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mowcow, Russia
    Posts
    1,957
    Rep Power
    14

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by Hanna
    Is Kemsk the Russian name for the area that Vyborg is in?
    No, the city of Kem (Kemi in Finnish) is located almost on the shores of the White See, and Vyborg, on the shores of the Gulf of Finland. Vyborg belonged to Sweden once, but I am not sure about Kem (I know that the lands around Kem were raided and ravaged by Swedish troops at one point, but I am not sure if they managed to keep the area for long)

  13. #913
    Hanna
    Guest

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Oh ok.. Gosh you really know your history! Sweden actually built that castle there in Vyborg; it was a big deal in school history, because it's located at a strategically important point -- whoever holds it controls the whole area.

    I am a bit hazy on exactly what happened around that time, but to sum it up; Sweden declared war on Russia because it wanted some lands somewhere in Western Russia. And because the king at the time was about 18 years old and really wanted to fight Russia... (there is a very famous poem about that..)

    But Russia won the war and took Finland and part of the Baltic states from Sweden. Can't remember the exact details.

    EDIT: I just checked this... Apparently Russia took 1/3 of Sweden's entire territory at the time!! This was 1809.

    All this is considered a great tragedy in Sweden, although some people also say it's good, because we haven't really been in any major wars since then, which has been good for the country.

    I read in Swedish papers that there is a recent Russian film about the major RU-SE battle that took place 100 years before that. (Narva)

    We should stick to playing icehockey with Russia, I think..........

  14. #914
    Завсегдатай
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    5,073
    Rep Power
    24

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by Hanna
    It's rubbish!!
    [...]
    I have seen it ages ago (198x) and remember thinking how silly it was that in all of Russia they couldn't find anyone who could say a few simple sentences in Swedish... Replacing our beautiful language for mock German??!! But it happens in American films to...
    It's a (slapstick) comedy, so they probably did not even try to be authentic. I won't be surprised if they have invented this gibberish purely for comic effect. Цигель, цигель, ай-лю-лю. ))

  15. #915
    Почтенный гражданин
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    340
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by Hanna
    I read in Swedish papers that there is a recent Russian film about the major RU-SE battle that took place 100 years before that. (Narva)
    I'm guessing it's The Sovereign's Servant (English title) or Слуга государев. Swedish wikipedia lol

    I've been meaning to see this for a while. Is it any good, anyone? I heard it was pretty bad.
    If I was kiddin' you, I'd be wearin' a fez and no pants. (Lennie Briscoe)

  16. #916
    Завсегдатай Basil77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Moscow reg.
    Posts
    2,549
    Rep Power
    18

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by Hanna
    I read in Swedish papers that there is a recent Russian film about the major RU-SE battle that took place 100 years before that. (Narva)
    I didn't watched the film but reviews says it's rather bad so I haven't a big desire to watch it. If you want a really good stuff about Geart Northern War from the Russian point of view I highly reccomend you to read the epic novel by Alexey Tolstoy "Peter I". It's one of my favorite books and I read it about 10 times. The last part of it describes early years of Northern War, including big chapters about Karl XII, his court and even his everyday life. The novel was translated in English in case you feel it's hard for you yet to go though this really BIG thing in Russian. The book was "filmatised" several times, but I didn't exactly liked the films comparing to the book.
    Please, correct my mistakes, except for the cases I misspell something on purpose!

  17. #917
    Hanna
    Guest

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Wow, thanks for the tip!
    I am so impressed by the history skills of many people on this forum, including you...

    I did not actually know about this book, but now I'm really intrigued.
    It's got to be exceptional if you have read it that many times...
    (edit, the book is available in Swedish actually, but hasn't been reprinted for a while. The title is Tsar Peter. Interesting author -- he writes both scifi and historical novels!)

    Also I did not know that this war was called "Great Northern" in Russia.

    Frankly, I have always wondered why Karl XII is considered a hero king. He should NOT have attacked Russia... I don't know the details of this precisely. Sweden had a great position in Northern Europe and I don't think Russia was even interested in challenging that. So why did he declare war? I really don't know. But because of his greed and bad judgment everything was lost.

    There was practically a personality cult
    around this king for a while.. Nowadays extreme nationalists, skinheads, nazis etc absolutely revere him still... Don't get why... Just because there are some cheezy poems about someone does not make him great.

    Sweden has had some great kings, but in my view he was NOT one of them and I really don't understand the big deal about somebody who lost an empire through bad judgment.

    pointing towards his doom...

  18. #918
    Завсегдатай Ramil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Other Universe
    Posts
    8,499
    Rep Power
    28

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by Hanna
    Frankly, I have always wondered why Karl XII is considered a hero king. He should NOT have attacked Russia... I don't know the details of this precisely. Sweden had a great position in Northern Europe and I don't think Russia was even interested in challenging that. [b]So why did he declare war?
    Baltic Sea. That's the reason. Peter was trying very hard to establish a foothold on its banks. If you look at the map of the Scandinavian peninsula you'll see that the only naval trade route was from Archangelsk which meant moving in the extreme north around the peninsula to mainland Europe. Russia had no ports in the Baltic sea and Sweden ruled these waters. Karl XII was trying to ban Peter's access to the Baltic Sea in this war. St. Petersburg is Russia's 'window' to Europe exactly because of that - the shortest naval way to Europe starts there.
    Send me a PM if you need me.

  19. #919
    Старший оракул
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    937
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Quote Originally Posted by Hanna
    What's the name of this film? I have seen it ages ago (198x) and remember thinking how silly it was that in all of Russia they couldn't find anyone who could say a few simple sentences in Swedish... Replacing our beautiful language for mock German??!! ?
    It's "Иван Васильевич меняет профессию".

    The whole story was a dream of Shurik, an amateur physicists injured during an experiment. The Ambassador couldn't speak Swedish because Shurik could not do it, apparently.
    Налево пойдёшь - коня потеряешь, направо пойдёшь - сам голову сложишь.
    Прямой путь не предлагать!

  20. #920
    Hanna
    Guest

    Re: Films & TV: Russian & Non - Q&As/Reviews/Links all in he

    Oh yes, thanks! That film is on the top one hundred in the thread "Greatest hits of Russian cinema". There are so many Russian films I'd like to watch but I decided to start with newer films.

Page 46 of 50 FirstFirst ... 364445464748 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Films with Russian subtitles
    By JackBoni in forum Getting Started with Russian
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 10th, 2018, 05:59 AM
  2. Reviews and discussions of Russian language films
    By Hanna in forum Russian Movies
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: December 18th, 2010, 08:54 AM
  3. a place to dl russian films
    By Lt. Columbo in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: October 1st, 2007, 05:03 PM
  4. Finding Russian films in UK?
    By rainbowworrier in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 20th, 2007, 08:14 AM
  5. Russian Movie Reviews!
    By kalinka_vinnie in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: February 2nd, 2006, 05:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Russian Lessons                           

Russian Tests and Quizzes            

Russian Vocabulary