Thread: Volodymyr vs. Vladimir

Volodymyr vs. Vladimir

by Volodymyr:
    Okay first post here, looking forward to spending some time here. Short introduction, I am a student in Spokane, WA (USA). Russian/Ukrainian heritage on my dad's side, we think from Nycolaev (forgive the spelling) but can't confirm. I spent three weeks in Eastern Europe this summer, a week each in Estonia (Tallinn), Ukraine (Kyiv), and Russia (St. Petersburg) and had a blast.

I am an Orthodox convert and my patron saint is St. Vladimir/Volodymyr. I hear different things, so was hoping I could get some sort of consensus. I understand Volodymyr is a traditional Ukrainian spelling, would they be pronounced the same way? Or do you emphasize the O's a little bit.

Vla-duh-meer vs. Vah-lah-dee-meer

Or none of the above?

My Gamertag on Xbox LIVE is V0L0DYMR and I have a lot of fun with it, to-date two people have gotten it right off the bat. Everyone else tries to call me something ridiculous, everything from Voldemort to anything else you can imagine.

Oh, also taking my first year of Russian this year. Took me forever to find it, really enjoying it thus far!

by Zaya:
    Nycolaev
    Николаев in Russian
    Миколаїв in Ukrainian

Володимир (Ukrainian)
    Владимир (Russian)

would they be pronounced the same way?
    Of course not. First, in Russian and Ukrainian и represents different sounds. Ukrainian [и] is closer to Russian [ы] although it is not the same sound.

Or do you emphasize the O's
    I wouldn't say that we emphasise them but in Ukrainian we pronounce unstressed o's distinctly. It is definitly [o] (and in Russian unstressed o becomes a sound that is similar to [a]).
    Sorry, I am not good at writing down pronunciation using English alphabet.

everything from Voldemort

P. S. (to all) If you will correct my mistakes, I'll be extremely grateful to you.

by gRomoZeka: