Thread: Hi everyone I want to learn russian language..pls help

Подающий надежды оратор

Hi everyone I want to learn russian language..pls help

Hi there, I am Anne.I am from NZ and I just started learning russian so I guess I need you guys' help at the beginning. I hope to travel Russia this year because I want to give myself a break after finishing my Masters. so please anyone can help me this time I appreciate that.

Увлечённый спикер
    Just for a trip ? Then it won't be hard I guess, something like a droning Pimsleur , phrase books and such. Actually here, at the forum, lots of pointers and discussions are everywhere - just look around.

What was your Masters (if not a secret) ? I've got mine in Mechanical.

Подающий надежды оратор
    Hi there, thx for replying me and telling me that. Honestly, I know nothing about Russian language yet just at the very beginning. so I hope to get someone's help to guide me a little. Talking of books and tapes, I do think I need that. You know, russian words are pretty hard for me to read. Actually, I have all sorts of difficulties to learn this language. Do you have some specific advice to guide me abit? For example, what kind of study book/guide is best for the learners? and I need to get some tapes as well you know I need to practice my listening, etc. I am doing Masters in Business and Administration and gonna graduate by June. :P Yep, I wanna make a trip to Russia coz this is one of my dreams.

Подающий надежды оратор
    I am using the Linving Language Russian step by step book. Comes with 3 cd's full of audio to listen too. Althought this is also my first time but just reading doesn't seem to be enough untill the course required me to start listening to the cd's then all seemed to come to gether. Picked it up at Barnes and Noble, might be able to pick it up at B. Dalton Book stores also and costs around 20.00 dollars.