Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Slavic Languages Closer in Grammar to Latin??

Re: Slavic Languages Closer in Grammar to Latin??

Wow, that's a quite impressive. If you'd like to talk in German again, anytime!

Robin
    Спасибо за исправления!

Вам нравится этот форум, и вы изучаете немецкий язык? Вот похожий форум о немецком языке.

Почтенный гражданин

First thing that I noticed about Russian was how similar it was to Latin, which was actually the first language I studied. Spanish I feel is more modernized in a lot of ways that English is, and it seems that there are not so many words to learn in order to understand it.. although I could be fooled by Spanish's similarity to English as concerns word forms (car = carro, etc.) .. Russian and Latin I think are very cool because the word order is not so important and there's a lot of poetic freedom.. By far my favorite thing about Russian over Latin is that you can see and hear a lot of it in use, and it can become more natural to use.. Latin, no matter how well I learned the forms, was always kind of like a form of mathematics, like a formula that needed to be simplified to something understandable.. But the freedom of word placement in sentence structure makes both languages beautiful in my opinion... I mean no offense to anyone but I detest listening to spoken Spanish... and I love the sound of Russian (also Latin and Greek) when spoken...

Maybe I'm overstating but even as a native speaker, I think English is painfully limited, compared to these wizened and venerable tongues..