Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By iCake
  • 1 Post By Alex80

Thread: Questions regarding how Russians and the Russian government view homosexuality.

Новичок

Questions regarding how Russians and the Russian government view homosexuality.

Hello all! I am an undergraduate student in NYC. I am currently enrolled in an Intercultural communication class and am wondering if anyone would be willing several questions in 3-4 sentences regarding homosexuality in Russia. Thank you for you time!

1. How much does religion play a role in homophobia in Russia?
    2. Why was being gay a crime in Russia?

3. Why do you believe Russians to be homophobic?

4. What rights to LGBTQ person have in Russia?

5. Why do you believe violence against LGBTQ persons are tolerated?

6. Are you familiar with the Russian anti-gay propaganda laws in Russia?
    7. Do you have an opinion whether or not LGBTQ rights have evolved in Russia?

Those are some heavily slanted questions.
    DDT and xXHoax like this.
    I do not claim that my opinion is absolutely true.
    If you've spotted any mistake in my English, please, correct it. I want to be aware of any mistakes to efficiently eliminate them before they become a habit.

Почтенный гражданин
    > 1. How much does religion play a role in homophobia in Russia?
    Religion has relatively a little role in Russia at all. In the last years government tries to seriously increase influence of religion in society, but "70 years of communism" still has it's effect: russian society is relatively low in religion. Institute of visiting churches is very rare for example. Even they who believe themselves to be believers in most cases are just "it's convenient to believe there is no death after death" + carma + reincarnation and no visiting church.
    It's hard to talk about "role of religion" about almost anything.

> 2. Why was being gay a crime in Russia?