Thread: Greetings from Australia!

Подающий надежды оратор

Greetings from Australia!

Hey Everybody, my name is Kody and I am a 16 year-old college student, currently living in Victoria, Australia. Currently employed at the local McDonalds restaurant . Basically, I decided to sign up because I am extremely interested in the Russian language (Although I am simply a beginner), the Russian culture and history. I feel such a strong connection to Russia as the ancestry on my mothers side leads back there, my great-grandmother immigrated to Australia during the late 40's for a new beginning after losing her entire family during the war due to the Nazi onslaught. Unfortunately my mother never asked her many questions about her family back in the old days, it probably pained her to speak about such a sad subject. so far we know the name of her parents and that she was born in a town called Nekrasovo, possibly in the region of Sverdlovskaya Oblast. I have extensively researched her ancestry but have come come to a dead end. I'm not sure if her surname, which is Eremenko (Sometimes spelled Jeremenko or Yoryemenko) is common in Russia, i've seen a few with this name but I have no idea if they are my relations or not. Hopefully some day i'll find all of this information as it is all very important to me. Anyway, my hobbies, other than genealogical research are to study world history, especially Russian history, I find it the most interesting. In addition I collect Russian and Soviet militaria. I also love to read, especially science and history books, something which is a rarity among the other teenagers of my generation but I believe knowledge of history and the world should be an important thing to pursue, not to ignore. I'm also a fan of a fair few current and past Russian bands and musical figures, other than that the music I mainly listen to are from the 50's-60's and 70's era, i'm not too fond of some of the English music of this day. Anyway, i'd say that pretty much sum