Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: AOL

  1. #1
    Увлечённый спикер
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    n/a
    Posts
    41
    Rep Power
    10

    AOL

    The people at this website are excellent at knowing how to change settings into different languages. Does anyone know how to change an AOL screenname to french. I mean just one account (screenname) on a computer, I can't change them all, just mine. Can anyone help me, I know there's a way yo do it, but I can't figure it out.
    Git 'er done!

  2. #2
    Завсегдатай
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    с. Хреновое Воронежской обл.
    Posts
    2,481
    Rep Power
    14
    I don't think you can; that has more to do with the AOL servers, not us. You might actually end up with funny characters in your name that aren't what you expected. Try going to the AIM site and signing up for a new name with foreign characters in it...

  3. #3
    Увлечённый спикер
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    n/a
    Posts
    41
    Rep Power
    10

    yeah...

    Yeah, I tried that and I found out that you can in 9.0 but I [darn it!] have 8.0, I'll have to wait until I upgrade. Thanks for the help though Pravit.
    Git 'er done!

  4. #4
    Завсегдатай
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    с. Хреновое Воронежской обл.
    Posts
    2,481
    Rep Power
    14
    You don't actually have to use the AOL internet service to use the AIM messenger. I got rid of it a long time ago, though, after the first Toyota Tundra video ad popped up.

  5. #5
    Подающий надежды оратор
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Берлин - Карлсхорст
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    11
    The new Trillian version knows unicode. ( http://www.trillian.cc )
    Џорџ Буш је ратни злочинац!

  6. #6
    Завсегдатай
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    с. Хреновое Воронежской обл.
    Posts
    2,481
    Rep Power
    14
    The new Trillian version doesn't work entirely well. I can type Russian into it but the people on the other end can't read it if they're using AIM.

  7. #7
    Подающий надежды оратор
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Берлин - Карлсхорст
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    11
    Well, as far as I know, there is a new AIM available but not all have this version. The old version doesn't know Unicode.

    But MSN works fine, if you use Trillian, because MSN knows Unicode,
    Џорџ Буш је ратни злочинац!

  8. #8
    Завсегдатай
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    с. Хреновое Воронежской обл.
    Posts
    2,481
    Rep Power
    14
    I just use ICQ for chatting in Russian. It seems to be the most Russian-friendly, besides MSN.

  9. #9
    Подающий надежды оратор
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Берлин - Карлсхорст
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    11
    Friends of mine have problems with it (even Russians), okay, we should stop it here because we are far away from the topic.
    Џорџ Буш је ратни злочинац!

  10. #10
    uno
    uno is offline
    Почтенный гражданин
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    The uneducated parts
    Posts
    194
    Rep Power
    11
    No, I will continue...

    AOL is the devil.

  11. #11
    Подающий надежды оратор
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Берлин - Карлсхорст
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    11
    MSN is much better than AOL.
    Џорџ Буш је ратни злочинац!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Russian Lessons                           

Russian Tests and Quizzes            

Russian Vocabulary