Thread: Could anyone help???

Подающий надежды оратор

Could anyone help???

Even though, blah blah blah or Even though, blah blah blah
    Should there be a comma after even though?

One more question. If I am writing about events in the past:

I graduated from high school in 1998. It has/had been seven years as the Soviet Union fell apart, and Ukraine has just begun to develop as an independent country.

has been seven years or had been seven years Present perfect, past perfect... I just hate them

And what about the rest of the sentence? Is it correct?

Завсегдатай

Re: Could anyone help???

Quote Originally Posted by The_lamb

I graduated from high school in 1998. It has/had been seven years as the Soviet Union fell apart, and Ukraine has just begun to develop as an independent country.
    It had been seven years since the soviet union fell apart and ukraine had just began to delelope as an .... etc.
    Вот это да, я так люблю себя. И сегодня я люблю себя, ещё больше чем вчера, а завтра я буду любить себя to ещё больше чем сегодня. Тем что происходит,я вполне доволен!

The sentence should be "blablabla, even though blablabla" or "even though blablabla, blablabla". Even though is the beginning of a clause and can't be separated by a comma from the rest of the clause, it wouldn't make any sense grammatically.

It has been seven years since the Soviet Union fell apart and Ukraine has just begun to develop as an independent country.
    De gustibus et coloribus non disputandum.

Почётный участник

Quote Originally Posted by The_lamb
    I don't know if it's correct, but I know that most people from the southern US would say it like this in conversation:

I graduated from high school in 1998. I has been seven years since the Soviet Union fell apart, and the Ukraine has just begun to develop as an independent country.