Thread: New here...

Подающий надежды оратор

New here...

Здравствуйте! My name is Kristina, I'm a high school student, and I just started learning Russian (rigorously) 3 months ago, mainly because I have always loved Russian literature and I want to read it untranslated. I'm also OBSESSED with Russian culture, film, music, etc and I want to study abroad there in college. I read a beginner Russian script book first, and I've been using a "Transparent Language" computer program from the library, "Teach Yourself" by Daphne West (books and cds), and an advanced grammar book that I haven't hardly touched yet because it makes everything a thousand times more complicated than it really is. Other than that, I've made a lot of progress, and found a Russian friend and school that helps me with the conversational part of it. Does anyone know anything about these programs/books and if they are any good? Any suggestions for further reading? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Kristina

Hi, Kristina! It's a pleasure to have you!
    Take your time and brouse around here, you'll find lots of great resources.
    "...Важно, чтобы форум оставался местом, объединяющим людей, для которых интересны русский язык и культура. ..." - MasterАdmin (из переписки)

Завсегдатай
    I have come for a moment just to greet Kristina and wish her to have a good time around the boards!
    Я так думаю.

Старший оракул
    sounds like a good start, rock on. teach yourself russian was the first russian book i got 6 something years ago, cut to the present and ive read crime and punishment in russian and reside in moscow where i wallow in the snow and wrestle babushkas for seats in public transport
    Не откладывай на завтра того, с кем можешь переспать сегодня
    --------
    http://england-moscow.com/

Подающий надежды оратор
    Haha. Kristina! We're very similar!
    Except that there are absolutely NO russian people at my school.