Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Why do you choose to learn Russian?

Властелин
    Quote Originally Posted by Platinum
    Let me ask my question in a different way. Perhaps you already answered it, but anyway...

I want to learn Bulgaria AND Russian. Since I'm going to Bulgaria in 2 months (and staying there for 1 month), should I switch my studies to hard-core Bulgarian? So far I know almost zero Bulgarian. I know a few words, but that's all. Or should I just stick with Russian and deal with Bulgarian later? In two months of learning Russian I can't yet communicate well, but I know some basics.

I'm guessing in two months of learning Bulgarian, I'll be about where I am now in Russian.

Sorry for all the questions, I'm just new at this learning-a-language game. Still trying to figure it all out.
    I'd try and switch to Bulgarian. I am sure there are some books out there. You already have some recognition vocabulary due to your Russian studies, plus Bulgarian grammar should be a lot easier for you, so you'll probably be further along than you are now with Russian.
    You can always continue with your Russian studies once you come back.

Властелин
    You're probably right. "Total fluency" is almost impossible to do. I think a person can become "fluent enough" in any language, but only if he/she is in that country. I'm surprised to know that you found communicating with people easier than reading English. For the record, I think your written (typed) English is VERY good. Honestly, I cannot tell a difference in your English compared to a native speaker.