Thread: WHAT IS FAMILY LIKE IN THE RUSSIAN CULTURE?

Новичок

WHAT IS FAMILY LIKE IN THE RUSSIAN CULTURE?

Hi!

This is my first question: WHAT IS FAMILY LIKE IN THE RUSSIAN CULTURE?

I hope you answer it. I am anxious to know the answers.

Thank you for your help! I appreciate that.

Angelica

Почтенный гражданин
    Angelica,

Your question is quite broad, and therefore somewhat difficult to answer.

I've been hoping that one of our resident Russians would answer, or JB for example who I'm sure can give you a good idea of Russian family life from an American perspective...but...

I'm no expert, and I'm not Russian. I can only tell you my own experiences from my past marriage to a Belarussian, and integration into her family.

Alesia's family is extremely close...a sense existed that family members are the only people you can truly rely on, and trust. Trust is key and very important. Her family, I felt, was much closer and more reliable (to each other) than most American families I know. They would of course argue with each other, as most families do...but there was always a sense (and certainly the reality) of absolute loyalty and self-sacrifice to each other in the event of difficulties and problems. There was always a strong sense of this, more so than in America families, in general, I think.

I miss her family, partly for these reasons.

I don't know if this is what you're looking for, but I hope it helps.

http://www.womenrussia.com/russians.htm#Family%20life
    They have pretty accurate information I should say.
    ~ Мастерадминов Мастерадмин Мастерадминович ~

JB
    Старший оракул