Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pilot project

Почётный участник

Pilot project

I've been learning russian at school for almost 4 years now. My teacher even asked me to skip a class as I'm top of my class....

but, however, there's no possibility to SPEAK russian freely in my coutnry, as it is a rarely spoken language here ...

so I'll make a russian classmate the following suggestion:

We meet & do something together, such as playing soccer etc, at least 1x a week and speak only Russian...

is this a good way to improve my language skills?
    no pain, no gain

Почтенный гражданин
    IMHO you need somebody who speaks Russian better that you do (preferably a native speaker) for this kind of exercise.

DDT
    I have given up the Gambling, the Wine and the Cows!.. I'm in St Petersburg Russia
    But it has to be a better alternative than talking to ones self, don't you think?
    Let me be a free man, free to travel, free to stop, free to work, free to trade where I choose, free to choose my own teachers, free to follow the religion of my fathers, free to talk, think and act for myself. - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce

Почтенный гражданин
    Quote Originally Posted by DDT
    But it has to be a better alternative than talking to ones self, don't you think?
    I think it depends on a level of a classmate. You don't want to learn somebody's mistakes.

I tried it with English. It didn't work well.

Почётный участник
    Quote Originally Posted by Vesh
    I think it depends on a level of a classmate. You don't want to learn somebody's mistakes.

forgot to mention that he's a native speaker
    no pain, no gain

Почтенный гражданин
    Quote Originally Posted by krobatshov
    Quote Originally Posted by Vesh

forgot to mention that he's a native speaker
    If he's a native speaker, why is he studying Russian? (just curious)
    Платинов

Why was it assumed that the Russian classmate were in a Russian class?