Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Comfortability with Foreign Language?

Re: Comfortability with Foreign Language?

I've been learning German at School for 6 years and still I can hardly remember a dozen of words, but with English it was a completely different matter - I picked it up fairly quickly and in a matter of 6 months I could already speak and understand 80% of what I heard.
    In two years my level was 'upper intermediate'.
    But I have to say that much of my English experience came from many 'user's manuals', etc I had to plow through to learn Basic, Pascal, C/C++, etc
    There was no localized software in my time - everything was in English back then. I learned what this or that command do by trial and error ))).
    Send me a PM if you need me.

Hanna

Quote Originally Posted by alexB
    So is Esperanto, bright and simple but nowhere to be found.
    It would be really easy to take a political decision to introduce it.

All you'd need to do would be to teach it to kids in school across Europe, start some good TV channels and kick off some other initiatives that used it. The EU has the money to do it.. Esperanto is so easy to learn that it would practically run by itself, whereas English is a struggle all the way, as we know..

Return of investment (ROI) in about 10 years.

You are right that it's on the fringes at the moment. It is reasonably popular in Eastern Europe and Scandinavia and also in Italy I think, but still you'd have to make an effort to find people who speak it. It's a bit like a popular movement on a small scale; like open source software or environmentalism.

Learning English (a hard language) is just such a darn struggle for most people. I didn't enjoy it, it was necessary evil, compulsory, had to be done.