Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: ого and eго

Подающий надежды оратор

ого and eго

Hi,

i have a question.

I am studying the princeton course, which in my opinion is pretty good to study russian. There it says that you pronounce the г as a v sound. So during 60 chapters i was doing this. But sometimes i heard on the recordings still a g sound. I never understood why this was.

Now a friend of mine, from Ukraine, says that the v sounds is only spoking in small villages and not in the big cities, that in the big cities its the g sound.
    Can anyone help me with this? Is there a rule?

Thx

eго is never pronounced with a "g" sound. ого is also pronounced with a "v" sound, most often in adjectives (genetive). But in most cases "г" is pronounced as "г", the things I just mentioned are exceptions.
    Yulia65 likes this.

Мое произношение вот такое:
    его – [ево]
    кого/никого – [каво/никаво]
    ого – [ого]
    что – [чо or что]
    чего/ничего – [чо/ничо or чево/ничево]

Мое произношение:

его - ево/ева depending on if it's stressed or not.
    хорошего - харошева
    пешего - пешева
    ничего - ничево

ого - ово/ова/ава
    полного - полнава
    зелёного - зилёнава
    весёлого - висёлава

сегодня - сиводне

------------------

погода - пагода
    прогонять - праганять
    Another month ends. All targets met. All systems working. All customers satisfied. All staff eagerly enthusiastic. All pigs fed and ready to fly.

Почтенный гражданин
    Quote Originally Posted by antwerpsupporter View Post
    Hi,

i have a question.

I am studying the princeton course, which in my opinion is pretty good to study russian. There it says that you pronounce the г as a v sound. So during 60 chapters i was doing this. But sometimes i heard on the recordings still a g sound. I never understood why this was.